how to create a glamorous getting ready routine

2E0D4BA2-C9D0-4F7B-9B6F-505E20952B71.JPG
IMG_4326.JPG

We all get ready at least once a day, maybe twice, so why not make it an event? When I’m getting ready to go out, especially if it’s for the evening, I love turning up the glamour with a few easy tricks.

light a candle.
This step is non-negotiable, in my eyes. Set the mood with a really good candle to set your vibes for the night. For this scenario, I like scents that are warm or sort of powdery. The scent paired with the flickering light should get you in the perfect mood for either a night out or just your daily routine.

prepare a feel-good playlist.
You can’t deny the importance that music plays in setting a mood, so I’ve created a short little playlist that I like to listen to when getting ready. I also suggest the Hotel Costes playlist or any sort of ye-ye, French pop.

give yourself a facial massage.
When you’re doing your skincare, give yourself a facial massage for extra glowing skin. You don’t have to do anything fancy here, just spend some extra time massaging in your cleanser with your hands or a facial massage tool like a jade roller.

wear a lovely robe.
I love wearing my robe as I get ready as it’s a nice transition piece between pajamas and regular clothes and can feel so glamourous. Really, what is more glamorous than a silk kimono? Let me know.

have a glass of champagne or cup of tea.
Always have a nice drink on hand. If it’s morning, bring your cup of coffee, tea, or lemon water with you to your getting ready spot. Or if it’s evening, really amp up the glamour with a glass of champagne.

Screen Shot 2019-08-03 at 12.34.09 PM.png

the weekend list no. 65

5DB371F4-24AF-4EA2-91DB-EC90D280E63E.JPG
What lies before us and what lies behind us are small matters compared to what lies within us. And when you bring what is within out into the world, miracles happen.
— Henry David Thoreau
Screen Shot 2018-10-10 at 10.54.52 AM.png

The last two weeks of July were full of good summer vibes around here. We spent a lot of time outdoors, in the pool, and reading. My dad came with me to my monthly outdoor yoga class by the beach which I left with a totally sunburnt face and the outline of my sunglasses imprinted in white. I binged watch the new season of Queer Eye, had margaritas with a friend and Impossible burgers with another.

One of the big highlights was that my best friend and I went to see the new Tarantino movie, “Once Upon a Time In Hollywood” and I have literally not stopped thinking about it since. I’m filling up the time until I see it again with every podcast and interview I can find about it. There’s so much to talk about, I feel I should write a full think piece.

Side note, the rosé above was bought (along with a big bag of Starbursts) to get me through both Democratic debate nights as well as two nights of Bachelorette. I’ve never been more happy to see Hannah (kind of) pull a Mesnick and am crossing my fingers she and Tyler C. actually work out. I also started watching Succession (finally) and am truly obsessed.

Tonight, I was supposed to be going to an Orlando Pride game and was so excited because our team has three players from the national team who just won the Women’s World Cup including two of my three favorite women’s soccer players, Alex Morgan and Ashlyn Harris. But, then at the last minute I realized I bought the wrong tickets! So, instead I’ll be buying tickets to the right game and spending the rest of my night with my stack of library books and then head to the beach on Sunday.

Screen Shot 2018-10-10 at 10.57.31 AM.png

I’ve been so looking forward to Meghan Markle’s guest edited September issue of British Vogue for months and this video has me even more excited, if that’s possible.

What vacation should you take based on your Enneagram? My 4w3 choices are so accurate.

How gorgeous is Plum Sykes’ home?

Love this piece, 10 Ways to Do You.

Is this the perfect end-of-summer linen dress?

So many good books on this list. I added at least 5 to my list.

This is very cute.

hello, august!

Happy August, everyone! We’re officially making way through the second half of the year and I honestly don’t know where the time has gone. It seems like just yesterday, I was mapping out my goals for the year but at the same time, that time feels worlds away which is always a strange sensation.

So far this year, I’ve really been enjoying the format of having an editorial theme for each month. The themes so far have been productivity + optimization, little luxuries, bloom with grace, savoring the senses, beautiful travels, summer adventure, and all things southern.

This August, our theme is what I’m calling life is sweet. It’s sort of a sister theme to savoring the senses and little luxuries. It’s all about the sweet things in life from pastries and champagne to ballet, a good symphony, and timeless clothing. Also new this month is a series I’ll be working on (at least) the rest of the year where I’m sharing a selection of timeless, wardrobe classics that are both good quality and affordable.

We’ll start next week with topics like creating a glamorous getting ready routine, end-of-summer cocktails, and some of the must-see ballet performances you can watch even if you’re not in a big city.

Screen+Shot+2018-12-26+at+12.47.01+PM.png

book report: july 2019

public.jpeg

This was such a great month for reading! I read seven books, bringing me up to 36 books read out of my goal for the year which is 70. Four of the seven books I read this month, I truly loved and if you ask me, that’s a pretty good reading month.

PROGRESS: 36/70

Honestly, We Meant Well by Grant Ginder
This book was meh to me simply because I didn’t find any of the characters likable and one particularly repulsive. The story follows a Classics professor whose husband was caught having an affair and whose son is struggling after graduating college. They take a family trip to Greece where she is giving a lecture. When I think about it, not a whole lot happened in this book and the husband was just so shitty but not even in an entertaining way, so I just can’t recommend it.

Lock Every Door by Riley Sager
It’s July, which means a new book is out from Riley Sager, one of my favorite thriller authors. His last two books, “Final Girls” and “The Last Time I Lied” have been some of my favorite books of their respective years, so I couldn’t wait to read this new one. Weird side note, I only just found out that Riley Sager is a man (??) which surprised me because he writes female characters so well. This book was a little slow to get to the main story and wasn’t my favorite of the three, but it held my attention and I finished it in less than 24 hours and it’s still a great summer thriller you should definitely read! The story is about a girl who is hired to be an apartment sitter in a luxury Manhattan building. The arrangement seems to good to be true, which it definitely is.

The Whisper Network by Chandler Baker
This was July’s pick for Reese Witherspoon’s book club, so I was excited to pick it up. It’s about a group of women who all work as corporate attorneys and find themselves in a situation where they are going to oust their boss for his bad behavior. My honest opinion was that some of the book was depressing and it took me a bit to get into it because of that, but once you’re into it, it has a “Big Little Lies” sort of vibe but set in Houston, which I enjoyed. In the end, this was a really good story about women speaking out for themselves and one another against the disgusting behavior of the men in their work lives, something that’s really relevant now more than ever.

Again, But Better by Christina Riccio
This book was really cute and had one of the most satisfying twists I’ve read. Sure, the main character was annoyingly quirky at times, but it didn’t take away from my enjoyment at all. The story follows Shane, a college student who hasn’t had the most exciting experience in school but vows to change her ways when she studies abroad in London. There, she falls for a fellow study abroad student in her dorm and their story plays out from there. I highly recommend this as it was cute and the twist was highly satisfying.

The Things We Cannot Say by Kelly Rimmer
I love a good WW2 book and this was no exception. It was touted as a good book for fans of Lilac Girls and The Nightingale so, considering those are two of my favorite books, I was excited to read this one. The story is split into two perspectives: Alina, a young woman living in Poland during the Nazi occupation, and Alice, a mother in modern day Florida (shout out, Winter Park!) struggling with her kids and her dying grandmother. I can’t say much without giving away how these characters are connected but this was just such an engaging story, I couldn’t put it down. This is a book I finished in under 24 hours!

Lost Roses by Martha Hall Kelly
Like I said, I love a good WW2 book but don’t often read WW1 books! This is the prequel to Martha Hall Kelly’s book Lilac Girls which I referenced above as one of my favorite books. This story follows the mother of one of the three protagonists of Lilac Girls as well as a wealthy Russian aristocrat and the daughter of a poor fortune teller. While the writing was absolutely beautiful throughout, I found that this book was slower to get to “the action” than Lilac Girls but once it did, oh my god! I can’t wait for Kelly’s third book because she really has discovered a family of women with a story worth telling.

The Art of Grace: On Moving Well Through Life by Sarah Kaufman
I have mixed feelings on some of the opinions in this book, but overall I rather enjoyed it. Sarah Kaufman is a dance critic, who wrote this book about achieving both physical, mental, and social ease. She talks about everyone from Cary Grant and Roger Federer to Michelle Obama and Kate Middleton. I enjoyed and agreed with many of her points about how our current culture is one of coarseness and that it’s quite self-centered, but disagreed with a few things including her implication that political/social protesting isn’t a ‘classy’ enough way to respond to oppression.

my sweet sun tea recipe

IMG_2723.JPG

To finish off the month of July’s theme of all things southern, I’m sharing my go-to recipe for sweet tea. In my opinion, you really can’t survive the hot summer months in the South without pitchers of sweet tea at the ready.

Screen Shot 2019-07-29 at 10.23.29 AM.png

Ingredients
3 teabags or 3 tablespoons of loose black tea
(preferably Orange Pekoe)
1/2 cup sugar

Directions
1. Fill a glass pitcher nearly to the top with fresh water.
2. Add three bags or an infuser with three tablespoons of loose Orange Pekoe tea.
3. Place the pitcher outside in a sunny spot until dark in color, about 3-4 hours.
4. In a saucepan, combine 1/2 cup sugar with 1/2 cup water and bring to a low boil.
5. Remove from heat and pour simple syrup into the pitcher.
6. Mix with a wooden spoon and serv.e